top of page

Introduction Information

To start the professional contexts module we were given an opening video describing the content we could expect and the resources available to us. This module is designed to bridge the gap between our study and working in the industry so we have the opportunity to speak to a variety of industry practitioners in particular discussing their route into games and their roles. I'm quite excited for this module, as I think my biggest concern across my time at university has always been how I can convert my degree practise into a job. As much as I haven't heard of these industry practitioners personally, I feel that if they have given up their time to help aspiring game designers into the industry this is a very strong show of character in how much they want to industry to grow in a positive way. Assessment-wise there are a few questions I need to keep in mind alongside the brief, so I'm putting them in this introduction blog to help ground my work;





We were also made aware of the various organisations we have access to for resources and I wanted to look into these in more detail;


UKIE (UK Interactive Entertainment) - UKIE has always been the organisation I have heard the most about since studying games design and is widely regarded as the most significant of the organisations we are in touch with. They encourage diversity and inclusivity, representing game playing, game design, game businesses and game students across the board through a variety of initiatives and projects (e.g. 'Raise the Game'). We also have access to a student membership pack, giving us access to a variety of talks, events, video resources, courses, mentorships, databanks and more.





TIGA (The Independent Game developers Association) - Another strong organisation representing the games industry in the UK. Both UKIE and TIGA promote the idea that the UK should be one of the best places in the world to design and play games.

Into Games (sponsored by UKIE) - An organisation helping aspiring game designers into the industry with suitable job roles and career paths as well as supporting the video game industry for those in younger education. This includes resources like Video Game Ambassadors, various mentorships and the Side Quest community (I am already a part of their discord channel and have attended a variety of talks they have hosted).




Extra Resources -


"The Next Indie Game Revolution Is Now" - Twitch TV - EGX


Getting Into Games Podcast - Into Games




bottom of page